Soprano Tony Arnold presents concerts and workshops in collaboration with the following artists:

Jacob Greenberg.  photo: Liz Linder

Jacob Greenberg. photo: Liz Linder

jacob & tony at jib.jpg

Jacob Greenberg, piano

Since their award winning performances at the 2001 Gaudeamus International Interpreters Competition and the 2001 Louise D. McMahon Recital Competition, Tony Arnold and Jacob Greenberg have continued to collaborate on a variety of projects, including their work as members of the International Contemporary Ensemble. They have recorded works of Carter and Wolpe for Bridge Records, and Messiaen’s Harawi for New Focus Recordings. Together they have led composer workshops at Oberlin, SUNY Fredonia and the University at Buffalo.  The duo has built a varied recital repertoire which includes:

• Thomas Adès: Life Story
• Alban Berg: Seven Early Songs
• Hector Berlioz: Les Nuits d’Été
• Elliott Carter: Voyage
           Of Challenge and of Love
• George Crumb: Apparition
           Three Early Songs
• Oliver Knussen: Whitman Settings
• György Kurtág: Requiem for the Beloved
           The Sayings of Peter Bornemisza
• György Ligeti: Der Sommer
          Three Weöres Songs
• Olivier Messiaen: Harawi
           Poèmes pour Mí
• Arnold Schoenberg: Book of the Hanging Gardens
• Jean Sibelius: Selected Songs
• Anton Webern: Lieder, Op. 3, 4, 12, 23, & 25
• Hugo Wolf: Selected Songs


Michael Norsworthy, clarinet

A small, powerful collection of works for voice and clarinet(s) has emerged in the past 20 years. Tony Arnold and Michael Norsworthy have toured this repertoire, and expand upon it with ongoing composer commissions and educational residencies at Brandeis University, Stetson University, the University of Iowa, and others.  Concert repertoire includes:

• Georges Aperghis: Seven Crimes of Love (with percussion)
          Simulacres 2 (with marimba)
• Elliott Carter: Nine Poems of Louis Zukovsky
• Franco Donatoni: Cinis
• Pascal Dusapin: So Full of Shapes is Fancy
• Marc Monnet: Chansons Imprévues

Michael Norsworthy.  photo: Katie Colleary

Michael Norsworthy. photo: Katie Colleary

Movses Pogossian.

Movses Pogossian.

photo: Aleksandr Karjaka   

photo: Aleksandr Karjaka

Movses Pogossian, violin

A collaboration born through a single piece, György Kurtág’s Kafka Fragments, the Arnold–Pogossian Duo has commissioned companion pieces to present in conjunction with this monumental work over the past ten years.

In 2012, the Arnold–Pogossian Duo was the recipient of a coveted Chamber Music America Commissioning Grant, which supported the creation of Gabriela Lena Frank’s Seven Armenian Songs. This multi-faceted project, presented in Los Angeles in collaboration with the Lark Musical Society and the Dilijan Chamber Music Series, fused classical Armenian texts with Frank’s sumptuous harmonic language. The work was presented in masterclasses at both UCLA and the Lark Conservatory of Music, and premiered at Zipper Hall.

The Arnold–Pogossian Duo has presented recitals, composer workshops and masterclasses at major international festivals, including Darmstadt and Tongyeong, and over 30 educational institutions, including the Eastman School of Music, Vanderbilt University, Princeton University, and the New England Conservatory. Concert repertoire includes:

• Artur Avanesov: Im Luys
Paolo Cavallone: Frammenti Lirici
• Gabriela Lena Frank: Seven Armenian Songs (with percussion)
György Kurtág: Kafka Fragments 
           S.K. Remembrance Noise

• Vatsche Sharafyan: Ancient Anthem
• Heitor Villa Lobos: Suite for Violin & Voice